Ten things I like about me

I was supposed to write this post yesterday. It was even on my to do list, but it felt too awkward to write.

In my gratitude journal, there was a prompt that asked me to write down ten things I like about myself.

I was able to list the first five qualities pretty quickly, but then I came to a halt. I couldn’t think of number six, seven, or eight…

The irony is that two of my blogging friends Em and Little Miss Sunshine have written posts about being comfortable in your own skin, and in both their comment sections I said that I was grateful for the body I live in. Still, I felt awkward thinking about the things I like about myself and even more awkward about sharing those things with all of you.

Who knew this gratitude journal would really make me think?

Here’s what I ended up coming up with:

  1. I can stay calm when others get angry. I salute those years where I worked as a customer service rep.
  2. I can see both sides. It’s the mediator in me.
  3. I’m a learner of all types.
  4. I’m a faithful friend.
  5. I’m a poet.
  6. I can be a good listener.
  7. I’m stubborn. This wasn’t always a characteristic my parents enjoyed as I was growing up, but I use my powers more for good than evil now.
  8. I have wavy hair (not featured in this picture), which reminds me that I need to update my “about me” photo since I no longer have long hair, and I grew out my bangs a century ago.
  9. I’m quiet. Sometimes my silence inspires anxiousness in others, but it’s something I’ve come to appreciate.
  10. I can sing some really good karaoke. Bring on any song with freakishly long notes; that’s what really gets me going.

How easy or difficult would it be for you to rattle off ten things you like about yourself?I’d love to know a few. 🙂

XO

T. Shaw

17 thoughts on “Ten things I like about me”

  1. What a wonderful post, and I’m so glad that you made the time to recognise your self, and to share it with us.
    It would now feel rude to not join in.

    1) The fear I have of living has highlighted just how deep my courage flows.
    2) I like my sense of humour.
    3) I’m good with words, I can ask challenging questions of others, or deliver criticism in a manner which leaves the other person feeling valued.
    4) I can safely hold a silence so that the other has the space to connect with themselves (invaluable in therapeutic relationships).
    5) If it’s right for me to go with the crowd then I will. If it’s right for me to lead the crowd I will (even though I get anxious about doing so).
    6) Right now, life is very challenging, and that’s ok. Just for today I am ok with not being ok – and that I like.
    7) I have found a passion in Photography, and I put my all into it. Talent is wasted without effort and I like the effort I have put in to Photography.
    8) I don’t discriminate. I’m not bothered about difference or diversity. Let’s share who we are and celebrate.
    9) My eyes. My eyes are amazing. Mostly they are hazel, but they go a golden yellow when I’m very happy.
    10) I’m able to admit when I’m wrong. Maybe not straight away, and in the first instance I may disagree or become defensive. But I will reflect upon what you say and challenge myself to see if there is truth in your words. If there is then I’ll get back to you and put my hands up.

    Your honesty has given me the time and space to reflect upon myself. Thankyou.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Love seeing posts like this, so positive and upbeat, just brings a smile to my face! I so feel you on #9: being quiet isn’t always celebrated in people, but I think it’s super admirable!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. First thing first, your picture is beautiful and so is that top!
    Nice to see we have a few things in common; I, too, I’m a faithful friend and stubborn (for good). I’m still learning to appreciate my quiet days.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Staying calm and being a faithful friend is the greatest gift a person can have. I think we should remind ourselves about things which we feel thankful for. So here are few from my side:
    1) First of all my family.
    2) Travelling
    3) Good Books
    4) My new shoes
    5) Good weather
    That is all I can think of at this moment.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I sort of hate things that I love about myself. For instance, I love that have a lot of empathy, but at the same time, hate that I am emphatic because people often mistake me for a push over.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment